Daniel O’Sullivan & Richard Youngs

Twelve of Hearts is the debut album by experimental songwriters, Daniel O’Sullivan and Richard Youngs.

Each song has four chords. No more. No less. They cycle without variation. They never change key. As Youngs sings on Oblivion Riviera, this is “the glittering formula”.

The music is augmented by an array of sources including piano, tape machines, guitars, reeds, strings, metal sheet and computer. Constructed over several months – O’Sullivan in London, Youngs in Glasgow – only material strictly adhering to the formula has made it on to this release. The result is a cycle of 12 songs based on one chord progression.

After releasing O’Sullivan’s two solo albums ‘Veld’ and ‘Folly’ and Youngs’ 2018 album ‘Belief’, this is the duo’s first for Tim Burgess’ O Genesis label.

Releases by Daniel O’Sullivan & Richard Youngs

Twelve Of Hearts

A1 First Throw Of The Ocean
A2 Big Old Star
A3 Fear Catches The Sky
A4 Long Joyful Dream
A5 The Gate
A6 Touch Of The Sun
B1 Don’t Hang With Angels
B2 Oblivion Riviera
B3 In The August Dream
B4 Like I Need To Be Amazed
B5 Remain The Fool
B6 Twelve Of Hearts